The Skeletal System

The skeletal system is your body’s central framework. It consists of bones and connective tissue, including cartilage, tendons, and ligaments. Bones of the human body articulate to form Joints.

Types of Joints

There are two types of Joints: Synovial, which allow movement. Non Synovial, which does not allow movement.

Divisions of The Skeletal System

The Skeletal System is divided into two parts, the Axial Skeleton and the Appendicular Skeleton

Axial Skeleton
It is among the midline of the body, it includes the skull, vertebral column, ribs and Sternum. The vertebrae of the spine are divided into three sections, cervical spine which consist of 7 vertebrae (c1-c7),  thoracic spine which consist of 12 vertebrae (t1-t12), lumbar spine which consist of 5 vertebrae (l1-l5), sacrum consisting of 5 fused vertebrae and the coccyx consisting of around 5 fused vertebrae

Appendicular Skeleton
It compromises of the bones that articulate from the axial skeleton, It includes the clavicle, scapula, humerus, radius, ulna, hip bone, femur, patella, tibia, fibula, tarsals, carpals, metatarsals, metacarpals and phalanges.